Map of Solomon Islands


Solomon Islands is a nation in the South Pacific Ocean, that lies east of Papua New Guinea and consists of an extensive archipelago: Choiseul, the Shortland Islands, the New Georgia Islands, Santa Isabel, the Russell Islands, the Florida Islands, Malaita, Guadalcanal, Sikaiana, Maramasike, Ulawa, Uki, Makira (San Cristobal), Santa Ana, Rennell, Bellona and the Santa Cruz Islands. The distance between the most western and most eastern islands is about 1,500 km (930 mi). Especially the Santa Cruz Islands, North of Vanuatu, (of which Tikopia is part) are isolated at more than 200 km (120 mi) from the other islands.

Volcanoes with varying degrees of activity are situated on some of the larger islands, while many of the smaller islands are simply tiny atolls covered in sand and palm trees. Bougainville is geographically part of the Solomon Islands archipelago, but politically an autonomous region of Papua New Guinea.